About the Think-Tank Platform

Think Visegrad – V4 Think Tank Platform is a net­work for struc­tured dia­log on issues of strate­gic regional impor­tance. The net­work ana­lyzes key issues for the Visegrad Group (V4), and pro­vides rec­om­men­da­tions to the gov­ern­ments of V4 coun­tries, the annual pres­i­den­cies of the group, and the International Visegrad Fund. Think Visegrad cov­ers the­matic pri­or­i­ties of V4 includ­ing energy secu­rity, V4’s inter­nal cohe­sion, EU insti­tu­tions and pol­i­tics, the Western Balkans, rela­tions with Eastern Partnership coun­tries, devel­op­ment assis­tance, hard secu­rity, envi­ron­men­tal pro­tec­tion, Roma-related issues, migra­tion, trans­port, etc.


Formation of the net­work of V4 think-tanks was one of the pri­or­i­ties of the Czech Presidency in the Visegrad Group of 2011–2012. This idea reflected the long-term inter­est and will­ing­ness of Central European think-tanks to enhance their coop­er­a­tion within the Visegrad Group and to deepen its cohe­sion. Think Visegrad was estab­lished in 2012 by eight V4 research cen­ters and insti­tutes, and is funded by the International Visegrad Fund.


The core mem­bers of  Think Visegrad (in alpha­bet­i­cal order):


Center for Euro-Atlantic Integration and Democracy (CEID)

Centre for Eastern Studies (OSW)

EUROPEUM – Institute for European Policy

Globsec Policy Institute (GPI)

Hungarian Institute of International Affairs (HIIA)

Institute of International Relations (IIR)

The Polish Institute of International Affairs (PISM)

Research Center of the Slovak Foreign Policy Association (RC SFPA)


The core net­work of think-tanks includes these found­ing insti­tu­tions with their coor­di­nat­ing abil­i­ties. Think Visegrad remains, how­ever, an open plat­form for coop­er­a­tion with other think-tanks from all V4 coun­tries. Think Visegrad aims to pre­pare exten­sive and detailed analytical materials each year focusing on the most important priorities of the Visegrad Group while reflecting the most current and urgent topics. At the same time, the plat­form coordinates annual fel­low­ships.


Cooperating institutes:


Czech Republic


  • Aspen Institute
  • Association for International Affairs (AMO)
  • Faculty of Social Studies –  Charles University
  • Freedom House
  • Prague Security Studies Institute (PSSI)
  • Faculty of Social Studies of Masaryk University
  • University of Economics
  • University of Hradec Králové




  • Central European University – Centre for EU Enlargement Studies (CEU-CENS)
  • Centre for Strategic and Defence Studies
  • Corvinus University
  • Institute of World Economics of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • Kitekinto.hu
  • National University of Public Service
  • University of Pecs




  • College of Eastern Europe
  • DELab Warsaw University
  • National Centre for Strategic Studies (NCSS)
  • Collegium Civitas University; European Forum Foundation
  • Institute of Agricultural and Food Economics
  • Institute of Public Affairs (ISP)
  • National Centre for Strategic Studies
  • Polish Academy of Sciences – Institute of Political Studies
  • Res Publica Nova Foundation
  • The Kosciuzko Institute
  • The Society of the Institute of East-Central Europe (TIESW)
  • Warsaw School of Economics (SGH)
  • University of Warsaw
  • World Economy Research Institute




  • Comenius University – Depaartment of Political Science
  • Euractiv.sk
  • Institute for Economic and Social Studies (INESS)
  • Institute of Public Affairs (IVO)
  • Pontis Foundation
  • Slovak Security Policy Institute (SSPI)


  • London School of Economics (LSE)